skip to Main Content

Must Reads from Black Authors This Summer

Must Reads from Black Authors This Summer

One thing we often fail to do as business owners, is rest. We forget to tap into the things we used to love or take a moment to read a book. As a company that serves entrepreneurs, we want to make sure we cater to the full needs of our clients. So, in honor of Juneteenth and the theme of rest, we’re highlighting books written by black authors.

2022 has been a great year for Black publishing and the summer has been no different. If you’re looking for something to read on the beach or by the pool, here is a small list of books that have already been published or will be by the summer of 2022.

Don’t Cry For Me by Daniel Black

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker.

Daniel Black has established himself as a force in the literary world with novels such as, Perfect Peace and The Coming: A Novel. This latest release is no less challenging and opens a window into Fatherhood, forgiveness, and how the collide. The concept is challenging and the writing engaging. Definitely one to check out this summer!

The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer by Janelle Monae

In The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer, singer-songwriter, actor, fashion icon, activist, and worldwide superstar Janelle Monáe brings to the written page the Afrofuturistic world of one of her critically acclaimed albums, exploring how different threads of liberation—queerness, race, gender plurality, and love—become tangled with future possibilities of memory and time in such a totalitarian landscape…and what the costs might be when trying to unravel and weave them into freedoms.

In a world that loves to box us in with labels and titles, it’s fantastic to see someone branch out and do something different. We’ve gotten to know Janelle Monae as a musician and actress and now she is venturing into the literary publishing world. Along with other contributors, she has put together a afrofuturistic world that explores a variety of themes and concepts. Well worth the read!

Black Love Matters: Real Talk On Romance, Being Seen And Happily Ever Afters by Jessica P. Pryde

An incisive, intersectional essay anthology that celebrates and examines romance and romantic media through the lens of Black readers, writers, and cultural commentators, edited by Book Riot columnist and librarian Jessica Pryde.

We love Black Love. We Love to see it and read about it. This essay anthology takes a hard and deep look into what Black Love is — what it was and what it has become in film, tv, and novels. If you are interested in Black Love, this is the one for you!

And the list goes on. 

These are just a few at the top of our TBR list we think you should check out. Let us know in the comments what you’re reading and what we should be reading as well!  

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.